Original Buddhas

Pancha Buddha

pancha buddha

View our Buddha Statues in our gallery

Five Dhyani Buddhas, popularly known as Pancha Buddha are five representatives of five different qualities of Shakyamuni Buddha. Pancha Buddhas are also known as Five Wisdom Tathagatas and are widely respected in Vajrayana Buddhism. In Sanskrit, they are known as the Five Conqueror, or Victor and are a common subjects in Vajrayana Buddhist tradition. As you may have noticed in many Thangkas or collection of five Buddha statues in Buddhist people residence, these collection of Buddha statues are quite popular for their great five different qualities. These Pancha Buddhas are Vairochana, Akshobhaya, Amitabha, Ratnasambhava, Amoghasiddhi.

These Five Buddhas represent five paradise in five different direction i.e. Central, East, West, North and South. In both Nepali Buddhism as well as Tibetan Buddhism, these Pancha Buddha are represented in different Buddha statues, Buddha images, paintings as well as Thangkas etc. The collection of Nepali Buddha statues must consists of a set of five Pancha Buddhas or it is considered incomplete. This state that how much important is the Pancha Buddhas are especially in Nepalese and Tibetan Buddhism.

Pancha Buddhas & Their Characteristics

The following shows the importance and characteristics of Pancha Buddhas in the life of Buddhist people.

Vairochana Buddha

Vairochana Buddha is considered as the supreme Buddha among Pancha Buddha. This Premordial Buddha represents the wisdom of Sunyata or essence of the Dharma realm meditation mudra. In Tibetan Buddhism, Pancha Buddha are drawn together in a mandala, it is always that Vairochana Buddha is in the center of Mandala. Vairochana Buddha statues are mostly depicted in white color and it is believed that if one meditate saying matra on Vairochana buddha, it helps to vanquish ingnorance. Vairocana Buddha Statues is quite popular among the Tibetan Buddha statues since the core of Jokhang temple is the Buddha image of Vairocana Buddha and Jokhang temple is one of the few important Buddhist pilgrimage sites in Tibet.

Amitabha Buddha

amitabhav buddha

In many Asian countries, Amitabha Buddha of Pancha Buddha is greatly respected and followed by large number of Buddhist people as well as Buddhist monks. Amitabha Buddha is also the heavenly Buddha who reign over the Western Paradise and is represented in red Color, holding lotus which symbolizes gentle and pure. Amitabha Buddha stands in the center of Pure Land which is considered as heavenly place where one can be free from all cycles of life. Only who speaks or meditate on Amitabha Buddha can go to Pure Land according to Buddhist doctrines of Amitabha Buddha. Two major Bodhisattvas i.e. Avalokiteshvara and Mahasthamaprapta are depicted with Amitabha Buddha statues.

Ratnasambhava Buddha

Ratnasambhava Buddha represents the South Skandha and is believed to reign over it just like other Buddha. Ratnasambhava Buddha statues is especially depicted in yellow color and represents richness. Ratnasambhava Buddha is shown in Varada Mudra, also known as Boon giving mudra, one of the different styles of Buddha statues. In Mandala, Ratnasambhava Budhda is shown facing South.

Amoghasiddhi Buddha

As the Buddha reigning over North Skandha, Amoghasiddhi Buddha is believed to protect or destroy every ounce of envy or jealousy from the heart of people who meditate on Amoghasiddhi Buddha. Amoghasiddhi Buddha statues are depicted in green color holding double vajra. Since he is represented as the protector from envy, Amoghasiddhi Buddha is shown in Abhaya mudra.

Akshobhaya Buddha

Among Pancha Buddhas, Akshobhaya Buddha is quite popular representations of Buddha. Akshobhaya Buddha is depicted in Blue color, holding vajra with left hand and touching the earth using earth touching Mudra. Akshobahaya Buddha is considered as the heavenly Buddha who reign over the eastern Paradise and represents the fifth Skandha. By meditating on the name of Akshobhaya Buddha, one can overcome any kind of anger as well as hatred.

View our collections of statues and arts in our gallery

These Pancha Buddha are greatly respected by Newari Buddhism as well as Nepali-tibetan Buddhist ethnicities. These five Buddhas of five different skandha shows the qualities of Living Buddha and depicted in form of crown known as Five Buddha Crown or Rig Nga in Tibetan Buddhism. One of the key features of Pancha Buddha statues is that the hand postures of each Pancha Buddha are not considered mudra if all five Buddha statues are not placed together.

Our Buddha statue collection provides different styles of antique Pancha Buddha statues, Nepal Tibet Buddha statues, Tibetan Buddha statues, and Buddha sculptures, based on the mudras, etc. You can view our onlince collection for rare, old and antique Pancha Buddha Statues.

Share this page

Our collections of Buddha statues and arts

Antique wooden Thai Lanna Buddha statue

275 euro

Old bronze Burmese Buddha statue

750 euro

Old bronze Nepali Chenrezig statue

3,500 euro

Old wooden Burmese Buddha statue

175 euro

Bronze Ganesha

300 euro

Antique bronze Thai Buddha on Naga snake

500 euro

Antique Burmese limestone Buddha statue

400 euro

Very beautiful and detailed porcelain Guan Yin statue

350 euro

Antique bronze Opiumweight

75 euro

Antique bronze Burmese Buddha statue

3,000 euro

Antique Burmese Buddha statue on throne

2,750 euro

Special antique bronze Shan Buddha

3,000 euro

Set of 6 antique bronze Opium Weights

350 euro

Antique bronze Thai Buddha statue

300 euro

Antique Nyaung-Yan Buddha

950 euro

Antique bronze Opiumweight

75 euro

Old bronze Nepali Tara statue

400 euro

Antique bronze Ganesha statue

125 euro

Antique bronze Thai Buddha statue

300 euro

Antique wooden Burmese Buddha

250 euro

Antique bronze Opium Weight

300 euro

Antique bronze Nepali Buddha statue

450 euro

Antique wooden Thai Ayutthaya Buddha

1,400 euro

Antique wooden Burmese Mandalay Buddha

1,250 euro

Old wooden Mandalay Buddha statue

800 euro

Antique wooden Burmese Buddha statue

1,350 euro

Antique bronze Opium Weight

75 euro

Antique wooden Burmese Shan Buddha

350 euro

Special antique Burmese Buddha statue

7,500 euro

Antique bronze Opium Weight

75 euro
arrow-right keyboard_arrow_right arrow-down chevron-down keyboard_arrow_down chevron-up arrow-left keyboard_arrow_left close menu search twitter facebook youtube-play linkedin envelope instagram google-plus pinterest whatsapp heart-o Wishlist share file-pdf-o printer trash